Summer Pizza

I had a vision sitting at my desk of a dreamy summer pizza……inspired kind of by a Vegetarian Times article, but kind of by what was laying around at my house, waiting to get et or froze.

Here’s what I did:
Called my partner to go get pizza dough at the Publix. (he complied)

Remembered that we didn’t have mozzarella, stopped by the Publix myself on my way home.
Cut up half of a giant zucchini, tossed with olive oil and crushed red pepper, and roasted it in the oven at 450ish. You could also grill it I guess but I don’t grill.
Made pesto (about 2 cups basil leaves, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, a big glug of olive oil, garlic clove, salt).
Chopped up tomatoes, maybe 1 inch slices.
Spread pizza dough with pesto, then roasted zucchini, then tomatoes. Top with mozzarella. Cook in oven for about 10 minutes til the cheese gets all pizza-y.

SUPER YUM. I guess it’s vegetarian? Whatever, it was awesome.

Last step, give the scrapings to the chickens! Little pooping composters!

Leave a Reply

