I also run

Along with the chicks and the pastoring and the parenting, I also run. Lately, I’ve been struggling to keep up with my current marathon training plan, but we’ve pledged NO MORE TRIPS for the time being (excepting one camping trip for work and a shorty to my hometown) and am going to DO. IT.

I’ve found just like with chickens and childrens, you gotta just go for it and worry about some of the details later. I mean, some planning is certainly necessary, but if you think too much about it, you’ll NEVER do it. The enormity of any of those things….livestock? small human beings? a marathon? impossible. But somehow, when you make a commitment and go for it, it’s not nearly as daunting as it seems.

That being said, I’m a little daunted at the moment. I’m staring down a ten mile run tomorrow that I should stretch into 12 if I’m feeling spunky to keep up with my training plan. I’ve done ten miles many times, but it still doesn’t feel casual when you get into the double digits.

So tomorrow I’ll do what I usually do….I’ll prepare as best I can, and then get my booty out there and hope for the best! And I do hope that it’ll be a good run…I could use one of those soul-saving long runs….but if not, it’ll be one step closer to a goal race that’s been a long time coming.

–CP

Leave a Reply

