False advertising

image

For real?

Here’s the story….I take Wednesdays when I can for my “errand day.” And yes, sometimes I get a little bit of shopping in, in the middle of doing all the running around that normal people do on the weekends.

Today I had about half an hour to go to Macy’s and buy one of their Go Red for Women shirts. I am a fan of heart disease awareness, and when February rolls around I do purchase one of their products, if I like it. I wanted to get a shirt this year since they were so pretty and flowery, and so I went to the Macy’s to buy one, as pictured above in the FULL PAGE AD.

I walked around for a bit and didn’t see them (although there was a lot of red, and lots of signs proclaiming “GO RED DAY,”), and so I asked somebody who worked there and asked me if they could help me.

No clue even what I was talking about.

So she did the right thing and got someone else. SHE had no idea. So we go for the merchandise supervisor, or some such, at the end of the row.

Merchandise supervisor had no idea, so then we got bounced back to another salesclerk, who showed me some t-shirt with a heart on it. Hmm. Nope. Salesclerk said, “why don’t you ask the merchandise supervisor?” Um.

This story is not over. I went home for lunch and went online, and found the t-shirt I wanted on the Macy’s website. All set to order it, I clicked it and then saw,

“THIS T-SHIRT IS ONLY AVAILABLE IN STORES.”

And I’m not just going to be frustrated by this, I’m going to take a lesson from it. Sometimes people ask me things on Sunday, and I don’t know the answer. I try to take them to the best person who I think would know the answer (almost always our church administrator!), and pray that she knows the answer. But it made me think about what we advertise as a church and how we’ve got to be careful, because people MIGHT just want some of what we’re advertising! If we run a full page ad saying “come and see!” or “the friendly church!” or “we love everybody!” then we BETTER, for Jesus’ sake, and I am not being flip about Jesus or his sake.

And if anybody sees one of those t-shirts at a Macy’s, the Ellen Tracy one in a size Medium, please get me one. I’ll pay ya back.

3 thoughts on “False advertising

  1. Feeding them once they are there really is the hardest part. So easy for folks to slip through the cracks. Like in retail you constantly have to be re-evaluating if the customer(or congregant) is being served well. It is tricky business. Never thought of it from this perspective.

Leave a Reply

