Chickpastor’s Advent Calendar, Day 22

I have friends who celebrate the Solstice, and I would like to wish them a happy day, belatedly (sorry!). As a Christian, I get that there are other Christians who say terrible things about Pagans, but I am not one of them. I know that we got our Christmas traditions straight from the Pagan customs of the time (lights, wreaths, holly, etc….look it up if you don’t believe me!), and I think there’s something about a festival that celebrates the return of the light on the longest day of the year. Yesterday and today there will be solstice celebrations going on, and I want to give some respect to a tradition that’s older than Christianity yet echoes the same theme of light in the darkness.

I love the song below….I am a Dar Williams nerd and it speaks to the best in all of us, that we can disagree and yet celebrate our commonalities together, specifically, light in the darkness, and the magic of the season.

One thought on “Chickpastor’s Advent Calendar, Day 22

Leave a Reply

