God shows up and says howdy

This is a story from my husband, who is also a pastor and blogs here. It is true. If I would have gotten this on an email forward from pretty much anyone else, I would not have believed it. So….here you go.

Want to hear something absolutely crazy?

Last Saturday we handed out heart signs. [A heart sign is a “love bomb” that shows up in someone’s yard that’s had a tough year for some reason, illness, divorce, other trauma. –CP]

MW was on the list to receive a heart, but I needed his address, so I asked one of his friends from his church to get it to me, as I was planning the routes. She said she would get it to me, but when it was time to leave Saturday morning I still had not received her email. I checked, but it wasn’t there. It was time to go, so I googled his address and off I went to church.

Before we left church with the signs we prayed for God to give us thoughts, images, or ideas that might guide us. Among other things, one of the people praying was given the word “Rottweiler.” We made note of that, along with the others, I gave M’s address to the group headed that way, we loaded up two signs per person receiving them, and we were off.

Later that day, after the signs had all been distributed, the email with M’s address finally arrived. It was time stamped 12:04 a.m. that morning, but it hadn’t arrived until the afternoon. Figuring the ship had already sailed, I didn’t read the email until Monday morning, at which time I discovered Michael had moved. We had put the hearts in someone else’s yard. Afraid we had upset someone, I jumped in my car and drove to that house to collect the signs and put them in M’s real yard. I had a conference call in seventy minutes, and I knew I would not have time afterwards, but I figured I could make it if I left right then. On the way, I stopped by the church to grab two more signs, on the off chance that something had happened to the others.

When I pulled up to the house, I didn’t see any signs, so I suspected I owed someone an apology. I was wearing a long sleeve t-shirt and cargo pants, but I decided to ring the doorbell anyway and fess up. It turns out that the woman who lived there had been up late Friday night wrestling with a dilemma. She went to bed Friday night praying for God to give her a sign. She woke up the next morning, and there were two signs from God in her yard.

“I went to bed asking for a sign,” she said, “and when I woke up there were two!” She thanked us immensely, and told me what a blessing these signs were, and I could tell that she and her family had been well and truly blessed by them. Then, she jokingly said her dogs were being fired from their guard duties.

“Is one a Rottweiler?” I asked.

“How did you know that?” she answered.

So I told her about that, and then she asked about our church, and I told her about that too, and then I asked her if we could pray for anything else. She shared that her husband is struggling about what career path to take, and could we please pray for that? So we did. We held hands and prayed right there, in her front yard, me and this woman I had never met before and her six year old daughter.

I don’t know what happens next. There are two things I do know:

I am going to keep in touch with her.

This was all God.

This wasn’t me being a pastor with super powers. It was God who did this, God who made that email late, God who gave us the vision of a Rottweiler, God who made me wait until today to go, and God who made me go right then by making me think I had a conference call when I really didn’t (I had forgotten it was cancelled this week).

In case you were wondering, M did get his sign. I think. I left her house, following the directions, and I put two signs outside what I think is his house, but I haven’t heard from him that he got them. Maybe that was the wrong house too. If it was, I’ll go back tomorrow and have a new adventure of heaven on earth. If so, I look forward to it, and I look forward to hearing your stories of how God is bringing heaven to earth in you and through you.

A note from CP: For serious, I am proud to know this guy who God is doing all this stuff through! You can find him at The River Lutheran Church most Sundays at 10:30 a.m. It’s a small mission church who will adore you and show you miracles.

One thought on “God shows up and says howdy

Leave a Reply

