Being Bored (is brilliant!)

It’s been almost one week since my little Lenten experiment started, and it’s been very strange.

Although, obviously, I’m not like one of my friends who cut herself off from (GASP) the whole INTERNET, I do feel cut off from people. I wasn’t posting much, I guess, but I was following along with people’s lives each day, and I’ve missed that.

What I’ve figured out, though, is that I mostly miss the novelty. Think about it: if you go to FB, Twitter, or Instagram, there is almost ALWAYS something new. And I mean brand new, up to the second, just happened. There’s always something to see, to react to, or to click.

My brain went into withdrawal from this, a little bit. The novelty is addictive more than the actual content. Now that I’m not consumed with what’s happening right NOW, I can observe what’s happening today. Maybe what’s going on this week. What my favorite writers have to say every now and then, as opposed to every second.

I’ve also had a sensation that I haven’t had in a long, long time…the other day, I got BORED.

Remember boredom? When you don’t know what you should do, and you feel kind of blah, so YOU INVENT SOMETHING IN YOUR HEAD.

I was kind of expecting this, because one of the reasons I did this little experiment (besides being called to it) was this article abut how we just don’t get bored anymore: Bored and Brilliant.

After almost a week of some kind of withdrawal, boredom, and maybe even a little depression, I’m starting to make stuff up in my head. Not just 140 characters, but long and creative things that had taken a backseat to short and instant.

So far, I highly recommend this little break. Part of my plan was to get outdoors more, but the weather is not cooperating. Hope to update on that next week!

Peace,

CP

ETA: These blog posts are set up to auto Tweet and FB on my church pages, but I won’t be checking either website, just FYI.

4 thoughts on “Being Bored (is brilliant!)

  1. Have you ever hears/seen this?
    Be creative
    Outside play
    Read a book
    Exercise
    Do something helpful

    I was emailing a friend on the snow day last week, suggesting that my biggest irritation that day would be the dreaded “I’m bored” from my kids, and so she sent me that. Boredom in my kids sometimes feels like the #1 enemy. But you are encouraging us adults to be bored, right?

    I didn’t give up anything for Lent, but reading your post made me think about my Amazon Prime habit. Hi, my name is BJ and I am addicted to Prime. I have a Kindle which is highly portable and keeps my mind occupied when I’m doing laundry, dishes, cooking, showering, getting dressed, um, I did say that I have an addiction, right? My phone is not a draw, and I’m not on FB nor do I tweet, although I did have an account just to try it out. After they’re done with their cell phone experimenting, the folks at Bored and Brilliant need to help out us Prime users.

    I never get bored nowadays because I have Prime! I don’t know about giving up Prime cold turkey – that *would* be hard – it keeps me sane most days – but I do think it wouldn’t hurt for me to be bored once in a while instead of being fed entertainment on demand. I do love to be creative and make things; I especially like to cook. I’m also learning that writing for fun is, well, fun! I’m not that good at it, but I’m amazed at how good it feels to get some of the thoughts that fill my head out of my head and on paper, er, the screen. Maybe I could start off small – say a Prime-fee zone for 30 minutes? My mind is constantly thinking, so I’m curious as to where it would go if it got bored. Hmmm…I wonder where yours will go next week?!?

    1. I wonder too! And I so hear you about Prime. We just got it a few months ago, ostensibly for Christmas, and it is addictive too! 30 minutes is a good start, but whatever is helpful for you.

      The kid thing is hard. We get on them for being on their devices all the time, but we’re on ours too, so that’s not helpful. So I’m trying to work on what I’m doing first and then hopefully I can practice what I preach, so to speak! And I do like that list of things, and I’m planning on implementing it this summer for all of us.

      1. Practice what you preach – that is the bottom line, isn’t it? The do as I say not as I do bit doesn’t fly with kids. Like you, I tell my kids not to be on their devices as much, but I do actually let them stay on sometimes because I think about how much I use my device. If I make them get off on the weekends, then I also have to be prepared to turn mine off too. It’s not easy!

Leave a Reply

