For women pastors, we make a political statement just by our #presence behind the altar or preaching the Word. But sometimes I forget who is watching me and what they see. This drawing reminds me what little girls (and boys!) see when they see me in worship, and it means everything to me. It means that by just showing up and doing my job, i can help a girl to see that she is powerful, that she can lead, that God’s call in the world is for her too. #rethinkchurchphotoaday #Lent #internationalwomensday

via Instagram http://ift.tt/2mZrrhh
One thought on “For women pastors, we make a political statement just by our #presence behind the altar or preaching the Word. But sometimes I forget who is watching me and what they see. This drawing reminds me what little girls (and boys!) see when they see me in worship, and it means everything to me. It means that by just showing up and doing my job, i can help a girl to see that she is powerful, that she can lead, that God’s call in the world is for her too. #rethinkchurchphotoaday #Lent #internationalwomensday

  1. When I was a young woman and mother we had a yearly Women’s Sunday(WELCA Sunday). Women took “men’s roles”
    as ushers and pectoral. We always stretched to find a female speaker, a professor or other woman who would dare preach.
    Seems so unbelievable now yet not in all places. Proud of all who lead now and those who led the way!

Leave a Reply

